NEW ZEALAND – Here’s what has changed since WA’s announcement, and what it means for your travel plans based on NEWS:

New South Wales

NSW Health has said all people arriving in Sydney from Western Australia from 12:00am Saturday morning “must complete a declaration which confirms they have not attended a venue of concern”.

They also urged “all travellers who have arrived from the Perth and Peel regions since 17 April to check the WA website and immediately follow the actions outlined”, and called on anyone who had attended any of the identified venues to contact NSW Health.

Extra screening has started at Sydney Airport to identify any passengers arriving from Perth who may have visited any of the venues of concern.


On Friday, Victorian Chief Health Officer Brett Sutton declared the Perth and Peel regions would become red zones under the state’s traffic light travel permit system.

That means any Victorians who were to enter the state from those regions would be forced into home quarantine for 14 days, while any non-Victorians would stay in hotel quarantine until a return flight could be arranged.

The Victorian Department of Health also ruled that anybody currently in Victoria who had been in Perth or Peel between April 17 and April 23 would have to get tested for COVID-19 and remain isolated until a negative result is received.


Effective immediately, Queensland health authorities will require anyone who has been in Perth or Peel on or since April 17 to take a COVID-19 test and go into mandatory quarantine until 2:00am Tuesday, April 27

Masks must be worn if people need to go out to get essential goods, receive health care or to make end-of-life visits, if allowed by the facility.

Northern Territory

NT Health authorities will require anyone who arrives from the Perth or Peel regions from 12:00am on Saturday to undergo mandatory quarantine.

Anyone who was in either region and has arrived in the Northern Territory since April 17, or arrives before 12:00am on Saturday, will need to get a COVID-19 test and self-isolate until they return a negative result.


The Tasmanian Government has declared the Perth and Peel regions high-risk areas, meaning “anyone who wishes to travel to Tasmania who has been in [the affected regions] in the past 14 days will not be permitted … unless approved by the Deputy State Controller.

Any person who is granted an exemption would still have to complete 14 days of quarantine upon arrival.

South Australia

While SA Health is yet to offer any specific travel guidance, it has suggested any residents who have visited any of the locations listed by the WA Department of Health at the specified times should get tested for COVID-19 and isolate until they receive a negative result.


ACT Health is yet to make any announcements regarding the Perth lockdown.


Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)